Form photo and signature sizes
The upload rules behind this site's form presets, in one table, with where each figure was read and when. Not an official list: the notice you apply under always wins.
The table
| Form | Field | KB | Size | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PAN online application (e-sign / DSC) | Photo | up to 20 KB | 2.5 × 3.5 cm at 200 DPI | Protean (NSDL) PAN instructionsThe issuing body's own page, read 2026-10-18 |
| PAN online application (e-sign / DSC) | Signature | up to 10 KB | 4.5 × 2 cm at 200 DPI | Protean (NSDL) PAN instructionsThe issuing body's own page, read 2026-10-18 |
| Indian e-Visa | Photo | 10–300 KB | square, 350–1000 px a side | Indian Visa Online photo specification (PDF)The issuing body's own page, read 2026-10-18 |
| Bank exams (SBI PO pattern) | Photo | 20–50 KB | 200 × 230 px (preferred) | edutap.in summary of the SBI PO noticeSecondary source — check the current notice, read 2026-10-18 |
| Bank exams (SBI PO pattern) | Signature | 10–20 KB | 140 × 60 px (preferred) | edutap.in summary of the SBI PO noticeSecondary source — check the current notice, read 2026-10-18 |
| Bank exams (SBI PO pattern) | Left thumb impression | 20–50 KB | not stated | edutap.in summary of the SBI PO noticeSecondary source — check the current notice, read 2026-10-18 |
| Bank exams (SBI PO pattern) | Handwritten declaration | 50–100 KB | not stated | edutap.in summary of the SBI PO noticeSecondary source — check the current notice, read 2026-10-18 |
| SSC CGL 2026 | Signature | 10–20 KB | about 4 × 2 cm at 200 DPI | pw.live summary of the SSC CGL notice (the photo is captured live)Secondary source — check the current notice, read 2026-10-18 |
| NEET UG 2025 | Photo | 10–200 KB | not stated | careers360 summary of the NEET UG noticeSecondary source — check the current notice, read 2026-10-18 |
| NEET UG 2025 | Signature | 10–50 KB | not stated | careers360 summary of the NEET UG noticeSecondary source — check the current notice, read 2026-10-18 |
How to read it
- KB means 1,024 bytes. A range like 10–20 KB means the portal rejects files under 10 KB as well as over 20 KB.
- A size in centimetres at a DPI fixes the pixels: 4.5 × 2 cm at 200 DPI is 354 × 157 pixels.
- A row marked secondary was read from a coaching or news site's summary of the notice, not the notice itself. Confirm it on the official portal before you upload.
- There is no Passport Seva row: the passport photo is taken at the service centre, and no current upload rule for it was found.
Change log
- 2026-10-18 — first published: 10 rows read from the sources linked above.
Questions
- What size should a signature be for an exam form?
- Bank-exam pattern notices commonly ask for 10–20 KB and about 140 × 60 pixels; PAN asks for at most 10 KB at 2 × 4.5 cm and 200 DPI. Always check the notice you are applying under: rules change between years.
- Why does the form reject a file that is the right size?
- Usually because it is under the minimum, not over the maximum. Many portals set a floor as well as a ceiling. The KB page on this site takes both and reports when a picture cannot reach the floor honestly.
- Are these official?
- No. They are figures read from published notices and, where marked, from secondary write-ups of them. This site is not connected to any of the bodies named, and the notice always wins.


